Exercising prevents extra sizes in children.

I never once went out of my way to actively exercise my body until I joined the military and I realized how unhealthy my body was at the time. Now I lift weights, run regularly, and practice healthy eating habits to maintain my body’s health. Nutrition and exercise are the two main lectures that I preach to my children to practice everyday because growing up I didn’t necessarily eat healthy or understand that sport and recreation was important for my body’s development. Swimming and teaching nutritional values are two ideas that my family is focusing  on practicing so we can all have a happier and healthier life. 149-children-running-600x400

As a parent, the best reason to have your children exercise is that it helps young kids sleep at night, which is the time of day that is important to your child’s growth and brain development. Kids are watching television, playing video games, and perusing the computer more than ever before that takes away the valuable time spent outdoors running and playing, so parents should limit the amount of time their kids spend on media and set a good example by being an active parent. It’s also important to teach your children about nutritional value so they understand that some foods can be good for you and most foods can be bad for your health. Right now my first grader is obsessed with reading the nutritional facts on food labels and questioning whether or not that he is getting enough calories so that he can grow into a strong boy. My preschooler won’t even take a sip of soda even if I offer him a drink because he knows that soda is bad and not necessary for caloric intake.

Swimming is a perfect sport or activity that children can become involved with because it greatly benefits their health and safety. It is the best sport to improve on heart and lung health and also increases stamina, balance, and posture for those who actively swim. Learning how to swim is also a valuable safety precaution for many parents since many kids like spend their summer days at the local swimming pool socializing with their friends. According to kidshealth.org drowning is the second leading cause of death for people between the ages of 5 to 24, so knowing how to swim may save your child’s life one day.

Leave a Reply

